I spoke to a friend of mine tonight

I spoke to a friend of mine tonight – knowing that she is going through a lot. “They say I have a big heart,” she retorted. In reality, she needs a transplant. “I always appreciate calls” – she says, with a quiet sincerity. “Ever since the holidays, things have been tougher.” My reply: “I think the holidays did us all in, to make you feel better.” We laugh – both exhausted from different things in life. There is a common experience here that makes the connection meaningful. Is there anything I can do? I realize the call means the world to her. She also comments that the anecdotes and artwork I’ve posted on Facebook are a necessary distraction. “I’m just taking things a day at a time.” I reassure her that I am, too. That in humanity – this saying comes up all too often. That she is not alone.

“Is there anything I can do?” – I ask again.

“You’re doing it right now.”

2 thoughts on “I spoke to a friend of mine tonight

Leave a Reply

